RSS

So Hard To Say Goodbye

17 Jun
Animated flag of Nigeria.

Animated flag of Nigeria. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As of today I have exactly 2 weeks left in Nigeria and as you can imagine I am very excited to go home. However, after my last post “Frustrated American” I feel it is only right that I exit with a positive outlook for the country. Why? Well, as I stated in my very first post back in June 2012 “in order not to perpetuate The “Danger of a Single Story”, I want to be sure that you don’t take my 1 experience and shape a one sided view of the country but that you have the opportunity to explore different sides.”

Through my posts I hope I have provided insight into the country, a different view from all of the insecurity that is shown in the media but I also hope that readers were able to experience some of my adventures with me. Now, as with everything in life there is good and bad and I want to leave providing a good and lasting taste about Nigeria. Below I have listed some things that I know I will miss. Note, some of the things I appreciate just because of personal lifestyle differences so you may not understand.

Things I will miss (no particular order):
1. Yahuza Chicken Suya

2. The ability to walk to and from work from my apartment

3. Never having plans but always finding myself busy (dinner with friends, movies etc.)

4. How complimentary men and women are (I always tell women…if you have low confidence in your appearance come to Nigeria people here will make you feel like you are the most beautiful person in the world)

5. The relaxed work environment (although at times this is frustrating)

6. If I do not walk in my neighborhood (work or apartment) people notice so when they do see me they ask “how far?” and where you dey, you dey travel?”

7. How anything and everything is possible in Naija (not really a good thing but convenient when you need contacts lens with no prescription, gas but don’t want to stop at gas station, a job but is not qualified, etc.)

8. The convenience of everything and anything being sold on the street. Don’t really need to go to a store or market for much just go to nearest corner and get whatever; a pedicure, food, phone charger, etc.

9. Walking in a salon without an appointment and being immediately serviced

10. Getting braids, including wash, for less than $40 (any style)

11. Having a security guard/gate man that will get whatever I need whenever (if I a hungry but don’t want to leave the house he will get it, if my sheets need washing but I don’t feel like hand washing or taking them to get washed he will do it)

12. Being able to step onto the street and get a taxi (don’t need to call and schedule a taxi, can’t do this in all states/cities back in the U.S.)

13. Feeling a part of the “majority” population instead of the “minority” (not being the only or few blacks)

14. The small church I attend where everyone (including the pastor) notices a new comer and makes sure to speak and see how you are doing

I am sure there is more but that is all I can think of now…

 
 

Leave a comment