RSS

Frustrated American

21 May
Representing my country at the same time accessorizing my hair.

Representing my country at the same time accessorizing my hair.

I am about 6 weeks out from ending this journey and returning to the U.S. And I can honestly say that I am so ready to go home. If I could leave tomorrow I would. Which is an interesting feeling considering my overall pleasant experience.

I started this journey 11 months ago as of June 1st. When I started I was eager, anxious and scared. But a week before stepping on the plane to a country unknown called Nigeria, I was surprisingly calm and at peace with my decision. I understood that there would be ups and downs but I was excited to face the highs and lows of starting a new life.

Since my departure from the U.S., or I should say ‘America’ since most people don’t understand when I say U.S., I have truly enjoyed my Nigerian experience, embracing the relaxed environment, hot days and toasters (Nigerians know what I mean by ‘toasters’) with my fair share of gloomy days. Days of missing my mom, American music, American food, etc.

I know that my recent dip in health is contributing to my longing for that place called America, the place with consistent power supply and water, access to fast internet, dependable cell phone networks, etc. Nevertheless, my ever increasing strong desire to be home is making everything that didn’t bother me before frustrate me now. Like:

People run businesses but NEVER have change (i.e., the taxi ride is 250 naira and the driver owes you 50 naira in change but conveniently doesn’t have it). It is just a ploy to get more money for the service/product. But as a company how do they settle the financial books (this happens is stores too)?

Repeating myself a million times because you don’t understand me. DAMNIT, I am speaking english. You know the national language here.

Hand washing my clothes…I exercise between 4-6 days a week I don’t need this!

Getting dressed just to sweat through my clothes.

Not being able to ‘easily’ get a fresh salad to eat with more than cabbage, carrots and mayonnaise.

Everything being cooked in Palm Oil or prepared with fish

Men not understanding that when I say no or I don’t want to talk to you that I mean it and they don’t need to keep asking or be persistent (when asking for my number or to be my ‘friend’).

Going to a bathroom and there is no tissue or running water.

People accusing me, through continued questions or body language, of lying about being an American. I know we look alike but until I have my complete lineage researched and proven I cannot claim your nationality. There are other African countries that could be my home.

Overall inefficiency.

Frustrated American….

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Frustrated American

  1. Nicole

    May 21, 2013 at 11:03 AM

    OMG!!! I totally feel you pain. I too have 6 weeks until returning to America (lol) and the frustration or anxiety is starting to take over. Like you my biggest concern is not having change. It is the craziest thing. I’m not understanding why large stores like H&M, pizza restaurants and cab drivers done have change and it’s the middle of the day. Yes, Candace, the states are calling our names!!! Hang in there 30 days.

     

Leave a comment