RSS

Weekend At The Farm

12 Nov

The first weekend in November I planned a trip to visit a farm for volunteers here in Nigeria, the first time I visited the farm was for work and I really enjoyed it so I thought it would be cool to get people together for a weekend to check it out. For those that do not know I am a Knowledge Manager for VSO Nigeria and I work with other non-government organizations (NGO). The specific program or area I support with the NGOs is secured livelihoods, primarily with agriculture. Therefore, I work with/for farmers making sure they have a process and tools to share information about farming best practices to increase income (or secure their livelihood). Anyway, that is what brought me to the farm in the first place. So I returned as promised with 11 volunteers ready for a weekend of fun and exploring.

Now you must know that at home in the U.S. I don’t really camp, hike or anything like it but I figured why not. The farm has 2 hostels on the premises and each has about 10 rooms with double beds. The place is powered by generators and there is no running water, it is fetched from the local man made damn for cooking and cleaning. There is 1 bathroom with 3 stalls for showering and pooping (I didn’t know what other word to use). You may be thinking why would I go here for a weekend of fun, like I said ‘why not’. The farmers were amazing. They prepared the hostel for our arrival by making the beds, putting up mosquito nets, fetching water, fueling the generator, preparing meals, they even got a projector and screen for us to have an outdoor movie night and gathered wood for a bonfire (we ended up not doing the fire…wood burning making heat in an already hot place…good idea but maybe not). For those that enjoy the outdoors and all of its natural setting, this was ideal. Eating dinner under the stars, and there were millions that you could see so clearly…I remember when I was young thinking that the moon was just the sun but at night…lol

The young people were performing for us.

I haven’t had pork (with the exception of bacon) since I have been here….I spotted that pig immediately. Oh, I wanted to take him down….

Boiling water for those that want a hot shower (bucket bath, all the same)

Digging out yam

Yam


Well, we also visited a local community that put on a traditional dance for us, they invited us into their huts welcoming us with open arms, we visited a local market, learned about medicinal farming and ate lunch at a local restaurant. Everyone was kind other than the few that wanted to know what we brought for them…The farmers even taught me how to harvest yam (like a potato but bigger) and try to balance a pot on my head (next I need to get someone to show me how to tie a baby on my back). It was a good HOT weekend.

I told you it was hot

Volunteers, Farmers and YMCA Staff

DID YOU KNOW?

Eating goat’s head is like eating grissle (however, you spell it). It was interesting to say the least but I was eating it in the dark which was probably for the best but imagine feeling it…some parts felt like the noise, ears, etc… But yep I ate it. It wasn’t bad but next time I suggest people not telling me what it is until after. FYI, it is chopped up and served in a bowl, I was afraid they were going to bring the skull to the table.

P.S. I updated the Things I Do In Nigeria post with a few more things at the top of the list….check it out.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment